Pakistan News Service

Saturday Jun 6, 2020, Shawwal 14, 1441 Hijri
Pakistan News Home -> Top -> News Details

Hundreds in race for 15 NA, 26 PA seats

22 August, 2013

  Related News  
Will end sit-in if SC judges contradict poll rigging claims: Imran
SC gives Punjab, Sindh 10 days to legislate on LG polls
  Related Articles  
Politicians are the biggest enemy of democracy
By Asif Haroon Raja
Are Our Elections Realistic?
By Col. Riaz Jafri (Retd)
  Related Speakout  
Will the present government survive?
  More on this View All

ISLAMABAD: Hundreds of candidates will vie for 15 National Assembly (NA) and 26 provincial assembly (PA) seats in the four provinces and the federal capital during today's by-elections.

The by-polls are being held for National Assembly seats NA-1 Peshawar-I, NA-05 Nowshera-I, NA-13 Swabi-II, NA-27 Lakki Marwat, NA-48 Islamabad-I, NA-68 Sargodha-V, NA-71 Mianwali-I, NA-83 Faisalabad-IX, NA-103 Hafizabad-II, NA-129 Lahore-XII, NA-177 Muzaffargarh-II, NA-235 Sanghar-II, NA-237 Thatta-I, NA-254 Karachi East-XVI and NA-262 Killa Abdullah.

The ECP has halted election in NA-25 DI Khan-cum-Tank owing to security concerns.

The election will be conducted on seats vacated by Prime Minister Nawaz Sharif, Pakistan Tehreek-e-Insaf (PTI) chief Imran Khan, Punjab Chief Minister Shahbaz Sharif, Jamshed Dasti, Javed Hashmi, Chaudhry Nisar Ali Khan, Chaudhry Moonis Elahi, Khawaja Muhammad Asif, Hamza Shahbaz Sharif, Mehr Ishtiaq Ahmed, Mian Moeen Wattoo, Saddique Khan Baloch, Sardar Zulfiqar Khosa, Makhdoom Ahmed Mehmood, Khusro Bakhtiar and other candidates. Elections will take place on four seats of the Khyber Pakhtunkhwa Provincial Assembly, including PK-23 Mardan-I, PK-27 Mardan-V, PK-42 Hangu-I and PK-70 Bannu-I.

Ten seats of the Punjab Provincial Assembly - PP-06 Rawalpindi-VI, PP-51 Faisalabad-I, PP-118 Mandi Bahauddin-III, PP-123 Sialkot-III, PP-142 Lahore-VI, PP-150 Lahore-XIV, PP-161 Lahore-XXV, PP-193 Okara-IX, PP-210 Lodhran-IV, PP-217 Khanewal (fresh election), PP-243 Dera Ghazi Khan-IV, PP-247 Rajanpur-I, PP-254 Muzaffargarh-IV (fresh election), PP-289 Rahim Yar Khan-V and PP-292 Rahim Yar Khan-VII - are up for grabs.

Elections will be held on four seats of the Sindh Provincial Assembly: PS-12 Shikarpur, PS-64 Mirpurkhas-I, PS-95 Karachi West-VII and PS-103 Karachi Central-XV, and three seats of the Balochistan Provincial Assembly: PB-29 Naseerabad-II, PB-32 Jhal Magsi and PB-44 Lasbela-I. Meanwhile, Acting Chief Election Commissioner Tassaduq Hussain Jilani said on Wednesday that all arrangements had been made for the smooth conduct of by-elections on 41 assembly seats.

He told reporters that the returning officers had been directed to ensure free, fair and transparent polling across the country. He said that troops would be deployed inside and outside highly sensitive polling stations.

Meanwhile, a control room and a complaint centre have been set up at the ECP Headquarters, he said, and added that transportation of the required material, like ballot papers, stamps, ink and placards for the information of voters, had been sent to respective constituencies.


 What do you think about the story ? Leave your comments!

Heading (Optional)
Your Comments: *

Your Name:*
E-mail (Optional):
City (Optional):
Country (Optional):
Field marked(*) are mandatory.
Note. The PakTribune will publish as many comments as possible but cannot guarantee publication of all. PakTribune keeps its rights reserved to edit the comments for reasons of clarity, brevity and morality. The external links like http:// https:// etc... are not allowed for the time being to be posted inside comments to discourage spammers.

  Speak Out View All
Military Courts
Imran - Qadri long march
Candid Corner
Exclusive by
Lt. Col. Riaz Jafri (Retd)
Pakistan itself a victim of state-sponsored terrorism: Qamar Bajwa
Should You Try Napping During the Workday?
Suggested Sites